Archive for October 1st, 2005

25 At that time Jesus said, “I praise you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, because you have hidden these things from the wise and learned, and revealed them to little children. 26 Yes, Father, for this was your good pleasure. – Matthew 11:25-26

I have three beautiful little girls. They pray because we have taught them to pray. The bow their head, close their eyes and talk to Jesus. They don’t understand exactly what they are doing, but they are learning to communicated with God. What impresses me most about my children is their first desire when something goes wrong is to pray for that person or situation. My middle daughter has a friend who was diagnosed just a few months ago with cancer. At only five years old, she has an excellent change of recovery, but she still have a long road ahead of her. Any of my daughters could think it is funny that she is bald, but instead they simply state the medicine is making her feel bad and her hair comes out, while it is making her better. Then they pray for her. They don’t ask, “Can I pray?” They just talk to God about how much they like their friend and how she feels better soon. I often wonder if the reason things are hidden from wise and learned people is not because God has actually hidden it from us, but because we get in the way and don’t see it in front of our faces. Only the simple faith of a child can see it. My girls can see true suffering and show true compassion better than I can and probably better than most adults.

Dear Jesus,

Thank you for three wonderful girls. Thank you for the lessons they will teach me even as I attempt to teach them. Thank you for expressing yourself through the innocence of a child. I love you Jesus. Amen.