Understanding God – Job 8-10

Bildad, a friend of Job, replies to the lamenting word of Job with much wisdom. He basically predictes the end of the book of Job. He tells Job that God will not allow him to remain in this sorrowfull and lowly positon. Job does not want to hear it. He is so overwhelmed by his situation he cannot deal with it in any semblence of a rational manner. It is easy to understand this, but it is allow good to see that Bildad understands God better than Eliphaz. I believe what we learn here is that our all powerfull God who can control anything and do anything also has the power to chose not to. Often, people what to blame things on God when they go wrong. You will hear phrases such as “Why does God let bad things happen.” In reality, most of the time God does not let bad things happen. God let us have the freedom to make choices and me must live with those choices. There are times where God allows us to be tested, such as Job. In these times we must do our best to keep our eyes on God (most of us would probably still act like Job, including myself). Bildad tried to be an encouragement to Job. I am not sure he succeeded. It may have been best for him to not offer the worlds of encouragement, but I feel he did his best and he truly loved Job in this situation.

Dear Jesus,

Help me to see your face in every circumstance. Help me to learn for the life situations I find myself in regardless if they are joyful, sorrowful or somewhere in between. Lord, show me you will in every situation and circumstance. I truly love and adore you. Thank you for loving me and training me in your ways. Amen.




    Leave a comment