Archive for January 20th, 2005

Jesus answered, “You would have no authority over Me, unless it had been given you from above; for this reason he who delivered Me to you has the greater sin.” – John 19:11

This verse makes me think about all the times we are complicit in someone being harmed because we simply don’t like them. We bring false or half-true charges and then hand them over to the “authorities” so they can be punished. Then we wash our hands of the incident because we were not the ones to hand out the punishment. In fact, we justify it by saying we had no authority to cause them any harm. The truth is we used an imperfect system to bring harm onto someone. For example, if we cause and innocent person to be arrested for murder and sentenced to life in prison or even death, who is guilty? The state may be guilty of a mistake, but we are guilty of lying, cheating, and murder among others (see the Ten Commandments). We may call this revenge for some past wrong, but God calls us the turn the other cheek. Sadly, It does not take false charges of murder to cause someone harm. It can simply be false rumors, innuendo, and lies that cause someone to not receive the promotion, the job, the future spouse, or life they deserve.

Dear Jesus,

I ask for your forgiveness for all the times my spreading of rumors and innuendo have cause harm to someone. I ask for you forgiveness for all the times I have broken trust with those who trusted me. Help me to be a person of righteousness and a person who deserve to be trusted by everyone. Help me to be like you. I love you Jesus. Amen.